The Department

The Department of Physics of the University of Ioannina was founded in 1970. The Department is housed today in buildings Φ2 and Φ3, on the west side of the Campus of the University of Ioannina which is located at a 4-kilometer distance from the center of the town of Ioannina.

The Department’s Personnel includes 43 members of Teaching and Educational Personnel, 9 Emeritus Professors and 18 members of Administrative/ Technical Personnel. Approximately 1700 undergraduate, 90 post-graduate and 45 doctoral students attend the Department of Physics.

The Department offers a complete programme of studies in Physics which leads to a Physics degree as well as four post-graduate programmes of studies which lead to a Master’s degree or/and a Ph.D. degree.

The Administrative Bodies of the Department are: the Head of the Department, the General Assembly of the Department, the Directors of the Sections and the General Assemblies of the Sections. For the current  academic year, the Professor P. Kokkas serves as Head of the Department.

Detailed information on the Department can be found in this website as well as in the Guide of Studies of the Department and the internal and external evaluation reports.